Schubert: Piano Sonatas - Volume 3

SKU: BA9644

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Franz Schubert
  • Editor: Walburga Litschauer
  • Instrumentation: Piano
  • ISMN: 9790006539864
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 177
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Volume 3 of Schubert's Piano Sonatas includes the tuneful, dance-like Sonata in G Major D 894 (1827), sometimes called the "Fantasie" sonata, as well as the three great sonatas in C Minor, A Major and B-flat Major (D 958, 959 and 960), which were conceived as a triptych and constitute the composer's greatest contribution to the piano sonata genre. The works pay homage to the three late sonatas of Beethoven. This scholarly-critical Urtext edition is based on the definitive musical text of the "New Schubert Edition" and presents the works in a spacious new engraving with practical page turns. It includes an informative Foreword and detailed notes (Ger/Eng) on central performance practice issues such as the use of pedals and Schubert's distinctive manner of notating accents. It is rounded off by a Critical Commentary (Eng) with performance-related alternative readings. Schubert's drafts for individual sonata movements can be accessed on the Bärenreiter website.


  • Piano Sonata in G Major, D 894, Op. 78
  • Piano Sonata in C Minor, D 958
  • Piano Sonata in A Major, D 959
  • Piano Sonata in B-flat Major, D 960

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.