Pauer: Bassoon Concerto

SKU: BA11567-90

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Jiří Pauer
  • Format: Solo Part with Piano Reduction
  • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction, Bassoon
  • Originally for: Bassoon, Orchestra
  • Work: Bassoon Concerto
  • ISMN: 9790260109278
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 63


The Concerto for Bassoon was the first solo wind concerto penned by thin E Major Czech composer Jirí Pauer (1919-2007). It was composed in 1949 and after some re-working the final version was premiered in 1952 by Czech bassoonist Karel Bidlo and the Czech Philharmonic. Although technically very demanding, the concerto is written with a detailed knowledge of the bassoon's character and possibilities, making full use of the instrument's wide range of expression.This edition adopts the musical text of the first print from 1967 (Supraphon), the solo part has been revised. A Preface on performance practice has been supplied by Ondrej Šindelár, bassoonist of the Czech Philharmonic.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.