Hertl: 4 Pieces for Double Bass and Piano

SKU: BA11556

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: František Hertl
  • Editor: Stefan Schäfer
  • Instrumentation: Piano, Double Bass
  • ISMN: 9790260108905
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 39


The renowned Czech double bass player, composer, conductor and teacher František Hertl (1906–1973) wrote many concert and teaching pieces for his instrument. An outstanding virtuoso, he had a consummate mastery of his instrument's expressive potential and sound qualities. These four pieces for double bass comprising a Prelude, Burlesque, Nocturne and Tarantella were composed in 1968. They have remained very popular among double bass players to the present day while being extremely challenging to play. Our edition adopts the musical text from the Supraphon edition of 1969. The double bass part and the Foreword have been revised by Stefan Schäfer, the solo double bassist of the Hamburg Philharmonic State Orchestra.


  • Prelude
  • Burlesque
  • Nocturne
  • Tarantella

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.