Handel: Brockes-Passion, HWV 48

SKU: BA11311-90

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day. Expected to ship in about a week.
Tableau des tailles

  • Composer: George Frideric Handel
  • Piano reductions: Andreas Köhs, Walter Heinz Bernstein
  • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction, SATB Choir
  • Originally for: SATB Choir, Orchestra
  • Work: Brockes-Passion, HWV 48
  • Work Language: German
  • ISMN: 9790006574469
  • Size: 7.5 x 10.6 inches
  • Pages: 245
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Handel composed his only oratorio in German between 1716 and 1717 basing it on the then popular Passion text by Barthold Heinrich Brockes entitled "Der for die Sünde der Welt gemarterte and sterbende Jesus" ("The Story of Jesus, Suffering and Dying for the Sins of the World"). Handel's affinity to opera is evident in the musical realisation of the emphatic text as he creates a synthesis between traditional Protestant church music and the depiction of human passion in the manner of opera seria.

This edition is based on the corresponding volume of the "Halle Handel Edition" (BA 4021). The full score, parts and vocal score have been newly engraved. The piano reduction has been simplified and brought up to today's standards, thus making it much more manageable to play.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.