Vivaldi: Violin Concerto in G Major, RV 310, Op. 3, No. 3

SKU: BA8980

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Antonio Vivaldi
  • Editor: Kurt Sassmannshaus
  • Format: Solo Part with Piano Reduction
  • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction, Violin
  • Originally for: Violin, Basso continuo, Strings
  • Work: L'Estro armonico (Concerto No. 3 in G Major), RV 310, Op. 3, No. 3
  • ISMN: 9790006541072
  • Size: 9.1 x 11.8 inches
  • Pages: 22


Vivaldi achieved popularity throughout Europe with his collection "Lestro armonico" Op. 3. He wrote the cycle which consists of twelve violin concertos for the orchestra of the Ospedale della Pietà where he was teacher and director for many years.

The two fast outer movements from Op. 3, No. 3 feature ritornelli combined with more virtuosic solo sections, as was prevalent at the time. This ritornello form gives structure to the movements. It also gives the student who plays both the solo and tutti sections in this edition, the opportunity to vary the returning motives in terms of dynamics and ornamentation.

In the short but expressive Largo, distinct quarter notes alternate with patterns of sixteenth across all the strings. This allows the student to practise various bowing techniques.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.