Smetana: Vyšehrad

SKU: BA11534

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Bedřich Smetana
  • Format: Full Score
  • Instrumentation: Orchestra
  • Work: Vyšehrad, JB 1:112
  • ISMN: 9790260108660
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 50
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


In late September 1874, shortly after losing his hearing, Smetana started work on "Vyšehrad", the first symphonic poem in what would become a six-part cycle with the title "Má vlast" (My Country). It tells the eventful history of this fort in Prague. "Vyšehrad" was published by Urbánek together with "Vltava" (The Moldau), the next part in the cycle, in a version for piano duet in December 1879. The full score and parts, proofread by the composer, followed in February 1880. Hugh Macdonald has corrected many errors in this first edition. He draws on the autograph and first print of the orchestral version and also refers to the autograph and printed piano duet version.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.