Smetana: Macbeth for Piano

SKU: BA11537

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Bedřich Smetana
  • Editor: Jarmila Gabrielová
  • Instrumentation: Piano
  • Work: Macbeth (Macbeth and the Witches), JB 1:75
  • ISMN: 9790260108370
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 15
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Smetana's piano sketch Macbeth, also known as Macbeth and the Witches, after William Shakespeare's tragedy, originated in 1859 while the composer was living in Sweden. Some scholars believe that it was meant to be scored for full orchestra.The work's dark and gloomy mood is connected with the death of Smetana's wife Katharina on 19 April 1859. Macbeth only appeared in print posthumously in 1912. It soon entered the piano repertoire, and in the course of the 20th century it was scored for orchestra by Otakar Jeremiáš and for piano and orchestra by Jarmil Burghauser.

This Urtext edition proceeds from the only surviving source, Smetana's pencil sketch. The editor has added as little as possible to the musical text in order to faithfully recreate the challenge of performing a sketch. Missing rests and rhythmic ‘anomalies' have been left as in the autograph.

This edition replaces the older H7322.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.