Smetana: Czech Dances

SKU: BA9507

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Bedřich Smetana
  • Editor: Jan Novotný
  • Instrumentation: Piano
  • ISMN: 9790260103825
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 94
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Czech Dances for Piano are the last cycle, and at the same time, the high point in Bedrich Smetana's works for piano. The impetus for the composition of this work for Smetana was probably the first series of Slavonic Dances by Antonin Dvořák.

The volume contains the four polkas composed in 1877, with which Smetana completed his stylisation of the polka in masterly fashion, together with ten folk dances from 1879.


  • Polka in F-sharp Minor
  • Polka in A Minor
  • Polka in F Major
  • Polka in B-flat Major
  • Furiant
  • Slepicka (Little Chicken)
  • Oves (Oats)
  • Medved (Bear)
  • Cibulicka (Little Onion)
  • Dupák
  • Hulán
  • Obkrocák
  • Sousedská
  • Skocná

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.