Smetana: Album Leaves

SKU: BA9525

Expected to ship in about a week.

  • Composer: Bedřich Smetana
  • Editor: Jan Novotný
  • Instrumentation: Piano
  • ISMN: 9790260104303
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Smetana's piano works reveals the composer as creator of short, lyrical pieces – moments of repose, varied in character and style. The pieces were mostly written in the 1840s-50s with the intention of composing works using all 24 keys, something which Smetana ultimately did not fully realise. The composer prepared some of them for publication himself – the first six works were published in 1851 as "Album Leaves" op. 2, and others were issued later under the title "Sketches", with the dedication "to Frau Clara Schumann in deepest admiration" (opp. 4–5, 1858). in addition to Opp. 2-5, this edition contains an assortment of pieces including occasional compositions and posthumously-published pieces.


  • 6 Album Leaves, JB 1:51, Op. 2
  • 3 Album Leaves, JB 1:65, Op. 3
  • Sketches I, JB 1:66, Op. 4
  • Črty 2 (Sketches II), JB 1:67, Op. 5

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.