Scriabin: Piano Sonatas - Volume 1

SKU: BA9616

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Alexander Scriabin
  • Editor: Christoph Flamm
  • Instrumentation: Piano
  • ISMN: 9790006536900
  • Size: 9.4 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 123
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


The piano sonatas are regarded as the central works of Alexander Scriabin's compositional output. No. other composer after Beethoven reshaped this genre so radically, thereby reinvigorating the tradition of the sonata. Scriabin's desire not simply to continue the existing tradition, but to surpass it, is evident as early as his first sonatas. These are exciting works from the pianists perspective and in their abundance of expression and wealth of imagination. Up to the third sonata, Scriabin developed a distinctive feeling for structural coherence and cyclical unity which at the same time revealed poetic qualities.

This volume contains the earlier works; sonatas officially published during the composers lifetime as No. 1 op. 6, No. 2 (Sonata-Fantaisie) op. 19 and No. 3 op. 23 as well as the sonatas written during his youth, in G-sharp minor (1886) and E-flat minor (1887-89). The edition also includes the virtually unknown fragment of a sonata in C-sharp minor (1887) and the reconstructed parts of a sonata in G-sharp minor (1892) never previously published.


  • Sonata-Fantaisie in G-sharp Minor, WoO 6
  • Piano Sonata in E-flat Minor, WoO 19
  • Piano Sonata No. 1 in F Minor, Op. 6
  • Sonata-Fantasy No. 2 in G-sharp Minor, Op. 19
  • Piano Sonata No. 3 in F-sharp Minor (États d'âme), Op. 23

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.