Schulhoff: Jazz-Inspired Works for Piano

SKU: BA9559

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Erwin Schulhoff
  • Editor: Michael Kube
  • Instrumentation: Piano
  • ISMN: 9790260105881
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 91
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Erwin Schulhoff was a German-speaking composer who was born in Prague in 1894 and died in the Nazi concentration camp in Wülzburg (Bavaria) in 1942. in the 1920s he returned to his native Prague to teach at the local conservatory. His compositions, with their blend of traditional genres, jazz syncopations, dance rhythms and moderately expanded tonality, were fully attuned to the tenor of the times.

This edition contains five of Schulhoff's piano cycles with a total of thirty-five jazz-inflected pieces ranging from the relatively easy Esquisses de jazz (1927) to the fairly demanding Cinq études de jazz (1926).


  • Partita
  • Cinq études de jazz, Op. 58
  • Esquisses de jazz (Six easy pieces), Op. 64
  • Hot Music (Ten Syncopated Studies), Op. 67
  • Suite dansante en jazz, Op. 74

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.