Schubert: Overture for String Quintet in C Minor, D 8

SKU: BA5637

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Franz Schubert
  • Editor: Martin Chusid
  • Format: Set of Parts
  • Instrumentation: String Quintet (Violin I, Violin II, Viola I, Viola II, Cello)
  • Work: Overture (String Quintet), D 8
  • ISMN: 9790006499236
  • Size: 9.1 x 11.8 inches
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Composed in 1811, this early work is Schubert's only string quintet calling for two violas. lt was probably modelled on the once popular overture to Cherubini's opera Faniska. Our edition presents the work for the first time in parts based on the New Schubert Edition. Unlike earlier editions, it reproduces Schubert's original articulation and phrase-markings, with erroneous diminuendo hairpins replaced by his original accent marks. The result is a new and refreshing transparency of texture. for the first time, the many variant readings are included in the parts in straightforward ossia passages.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.