Schubert: Impromptus, Op. 90, D 899 and, Op. posth. 142, D 935

SKU: BA9648

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Franz Schubert
  • Editor: Walther Dürr
  • Fingering: Mario Aschauer
  • Instrumentation: Piano
  • ISMN: 9790006539536
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 84
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


In autumn 1827, Schubert composed eight "Impromptus" for publication as a complete collection by Haslinger in Vienna. When the plan fell through, Schubert offered his "Impromptus" to Schott as pieces which "could be issued individually or all four together". The name of the works probably originated from the publisher Haslinger and Schubert also used it for his collection published later as, Op. posth. 142. The lyrical-romantic works are suitable for advanced piano students and have the character of sonata movements. Robert Schumann who regarded them as parts of a four-movement sonata, drew attention to the second collection published by Diabelli in 1839 in his review.

This scholarly-critical Urtext edition presents the musical text in a new engraving and with optimum page-turns. The fingering takes essential aspects of performance practice of Schubert's time as well as performance on the modern concert grand piano into consideration.


  • 4 Impromptus, D 899, Op. 90
  • 4 Impromptus, D 935, Op. posth. 142

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.