Saint-Saëns: Super flumina Babylonis

SKU: BA11305-90

Expected to ship in about a week. Expected to ship in about a week.
Format Descriptions

  • Composer: Camille Saint-Saëns
  • Piano reduction: Camille Saint-Saëns
  • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction, SATB Choir
  • Originally for: Organ, SATB Choir, Soprano, Saxophone Quartet, Strings
  • Work: Psalm 136: Super flumina Babylonis (By the Rivers of Babylon) (1854)
  • Work Language: Latin
  • ISMN: 9790006567034
  • Size: 7.5 x 10.6 inches
  • Pages: 18
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Psalm 137 "Super flumina Babylonis" also known as "By the rivers of Babylon" was an inspiration for many composers including Camille Saint-Saëns. He repeatedly occupied himself with his psalm motet for solo soprano, mixed choir, saxophone quartet, string orchestra and organ, originally composed in 1854. Two of the four versions – the first version in Latin and a much later version in English for alto solo, SATB choir and piano – are now available for the first time in Urtext performing editions taking a meticulous account of all the sources.

Saint-Saëns lived up to his reputation as an innovative composer by exploring the use of the saxophone family in sacred music just a few years after the invention of these instruments. The successful combination of voice and saxophone creates a special sound experience.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.