Saint-Saëns: String Quartets, Op. 112 & 153

SKU: TP779

Expected to ship in about a week.

  • Composer: Camille Saint-Saëns
  • Format: Study Score
  • Instrumentation: String Quartet (Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello)
  • ISMN: 9790006203079
  • Size: 6.5 x 8.9 inches
  • Pages: 108
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Ludwig van Beethoven's overpowering legacy caused many subsequent composers to avoid writing string quartets at all. Saint-Saëns was no exception in this respect and waited until 1899 and 1918 to produce his two contributions to the genre. Couched in classicism, they relate in form and style to early 19th-century French quartets and to a titan of the genre: Joseph Haydn. Saint-Saëns' string quartets appear here for the first time in a scholarly-critical edition. It is also the first edition to contain the original version of the Finale to String Quartet No. 2 in score and parts. An informative Introduction is included in the study score to complete this volume of important French chamber music, based on the Urtext from "Camille Saint-Saëns – Complete Edition of the Instrumental Works".


  • String Quartet No. 1, Op. 112
  • String Quartet No. 2, Op. 153

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.