Mozart: Missa in C Minor, K. 139 (arr. for soloists, choir and organ)

SKU: BA7521

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  • Instrumentation: Organ, SATB Choir
  • Work: Mozart: Missa in C Minor (arr. for soloists, chorus and organ), K. 139 (47a)
  • Work Language: Latin
  • ISMN: 9790006527953
  • Size: 7.5 x 10.6 inches
  • Pages: 99


This Mozart Mass has been arranged for solo voices, chorus and organ from the Urtext of the "New Mozart Edition", thereby making it accessible in all their beauty to choruses and church choirs with limited financial means at their disposal.

Martin Focke has based the " concertante " organ parts on the orchestral writing, doing full justice to the timbre of the original. The solo parts and choruses, of course, leave the Urtext of the "New Mozart Edition" entirely untouched.

Mozart had barely turned twelve when he composed and conducted his Missa solemnis in C minor, K. 139, to inaugurate a new orphanage on Vienna 's Rennweg in 1768.

This astonishing early work adheres to the form of a Neapolitan cantata mass, in which the separate movements ("Gloria", "Credo" etc.) are themselves made up of self-contained choruses, ariosos and ensembles.

This frequently heard Mass is characterized by a sharp contrast between its cheerful underlying C major mood and gloomy dramatic passages in the minor mode.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.