Meyerbeer: Clarinet Quintet in E-flat Major

SKU: BA8731

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Giacomo Meyerbeer
  • Editor: Dieter Klöcker
  • Format: Score & Set of Parts
  • Instrumentation: Clarinet Quintet (Clarinet, Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello)
  • Work: Quintet in E-flat Major
  • ISMN: 9790006506194
  • Size: 9.1 x 11.8 inches
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


This scholarly-critical volume is the first published edition of Meyerbeer's Clarinet Quintet, which vanished in World War ll and only recently resurfaced in the estate of the clarinetist Carl Bärmann. Meyerbeer wrote the piece in Vienna in 1813 for his friend Heinrich Bärmann, a celebrated clarinettist to whom C. M. von Weber also dedicated several works. The extremely novel and virtuoso handling of the clarinet was unusual for its day: Meyerbeer allows it to stand out clearly from the string ensemble and pushes it to the utmost limits of its technique. The Work enriched the meager chamber music repertoire for the clarinet in the 19th century. Our scholarly-critical edition makes this masterpiece available to performers for the first time in print. Besides the musical text, it offers a critical report and a detailed preface discussing the work's genesis. The parts have been given performance markings by Dieter Klöcker.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.