Mendelssohn: Violin Sonatas

SKU: BA9066

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Felix Mendelssohn
  • Editors: Hiromi Hoshino, Takeshi Kiriyama
  • Instrumentation: Piano, Violin
  • ISMN: 9790006532995
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 188
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


This is the first Urtext edition of Mendelssohn's Sonatas for Violin and Piano. It contains the early Sonata in F Major of 1820 and the Sonata in F Minor of 1823, which the 14-year-old composer began with an extended solo recitative for the violin. The edition also includes two versions of the F Major sonata of 1838 which Mendelssohn began revising in 1839, though this was restricted to the revision of a Major part of the first movement.


  • Violin Sonata No. 1 in F Major, MWV Q 7
  • Violin Sonata No. 2 in F Minor, MWV Q 12, Op. 4
  • Violin Sonata No. 3 in F Major (1838 - First Version), MWV Q 26
  • Violin Sonata No. 3 in F Major (1839 - Second Version), MWV Q 26

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.