Mendelssohn: 7 Characteristic Pieces, Op. 7 and 6 Children's Pieces, Op. 72

SKU: BA9083

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Felix Mendelssohn
  • Editor: Holger M. Stüwe
  • Instrumentation: Piano
  • ISMN: 9790006535798
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 89
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


The Character Pieces, Op. 7 (Charakterstücke) and Children's Pieces, Op. 72 (Kinderstücke) are Mendelssohn's most popular piano albums besides his Lieder ohne Worte and the Variations sérieuses, Op. 54. Robert Schumann described the character pieces as an interesting contribution to the development of the masterful youth.

The compositions mostly dating from 1827, are essentially the result of his lessons with Carl Friedrich Zelter in Berlin. The teacher encouraged his pupil to immerse himself in the strict style of old music, in particular Johann Sebastian Bach, but at the same time, as he himself said, confidently allowed Mendelssohn to dream of dragons and goblins.

In the 19th century, learning the piano was regarded as a highly desirable accomplishment. The demand for piano lessons for children led rapidly to the development of a repertoire suitable for this age-group. Albums for children were particularly popular around the mid-19th century and were popular presents for childrens birthdays, Christmas and other occasions.

The edition contains both piano cycles in the versions published in the first edition, and an extensive appendix also includes variants and early versions which survive in different autograph manuscripts


  • Sanft und mit Empfindung, MWV U 56, Op. 7, No. 1
  • Mit heftiger Bewegung, MWV U 44, Op. 7, No. 2
  • Kräftig und feurig, MWV U 59, Op. 7, No. 3
  • Schnell und beweglich, MWV U 55, Op. 7, No. 4
  • Ernst und mit steigender Lebhaftigkeit, MWV U 60, Op. 7, No. 5
  • Sehnsüchtig, MWV U 61, Op. 7, No. 6
  • Leicht und luftig, MWV U 62, Op. 7, No. 7
  • Allegro non troppo in G Major, MWV U 171, Op. 72, No. 1
  • Andante sostenuto in E-flat Major, MWV U 170, Op. 72, No. 2
  • Allegretto in G Major, MWV U 164, Op. 72, No. 3
  • Andante con moto in D Major, MWV U 169, Op. 72, No. 4
  • Allegro assai in G Minor, MWV U 166, Op. 72, No. 5
  • Vivace in F Major, MWV U 168, Op. 72, No. 6

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.