Martinů: Violin Concerto No. 2, H 293

SKU: BA11529-90

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Bohuslav Martinů
  • Piano reduction: Karel Šolc
  • Format: Solo Part with Piano Reduction
  • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction, Violin
  • Originally for: Violin, Orchestra
  • Work: Violin Concerto No. 2, H 293
  • ISMN: 9790260107953
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 45


After hearing the Boston Symphony Orchestra perform Martinů's Symphony No. 1 in New York, Mischa Elman commissioned the composer to write a violin concerto for him. Martinů thereupon composed his Second Violin Concerto in 1943. That same year Elman played the solo part at the premiere, with Sergei Koussevitzky conducting the Boston Symphony Orchestra.

This edition replaces the older H5286.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.