Martinů: Violin Concerto No. 1, H 226

SKU: BA11527-90

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day. Expected to ship in 2-3 weeks.
Format Descriptions

  • Composer: Bohuslav Martinů
  • Piano reduction: Karel Šolc
  • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction, Violin
  • Originally for: Violin, Orchestra
  • Work: Violin Concerto No. 1, H 226
  • ISMN: 9790260107946
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 61


Bohuslav Martinů wrote his first violin concerto in Paris in 1932–33 having been commissioned by the violin virtuoso Samuel Dushkin. Sadly, it was never performed during the composer's lifetime and was even considered lost after his death. Then, in 1961, musicologist and collector Hans Moldenhauer bought it from Boaz Piller, the contrabassoonist of the Boston Symphony Orchestra. Moldenhauer approached Czech violinist Josef Suk, who gave the world premiere of the work with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra under Georg Solti in October 1973.

This edition replaces the older H5797.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.