Martinů: Impromptu, H. 166

SKU: H5906

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Bohuslav Martinů
  • Instrumentation: Piano, Violin
  • Work: Impromptu (Three Pieces for Violin and Piano), H. 166
  • ISMN: 9790260106604
  • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 14


Impromptu for violin and piano (H. 166, Paris 1927) begins a new creative period in the life of Bohuslav Martinů. It consists of three short character pieces dotted with daring bitonal chords, balancing as a whole on the very edge of tonality. The composer pitted the more or less diatonic violin part against the greatly dissonant piano. The piece is the first time Martinů appealed to beginning musicians, to whom he decided to give easier access to modern music.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.