Koželuch: Complete Keyboard Sonatas - Volume 2 (Sonatas 13-24)

SKU: BA9512

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Leopold Koželuch
  • Editor: Christopher Hogwood
  • Instrumentation: Piano
  • ISMN: 9790260105027
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 203
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


As the foremost representative of Czech music in 18th century Vienna, Leopold Koželuch(1747–1818) was noted primarily as composer, pianist and keyboard teacher. His 50 keyboard sonatas cover his entire career and mark not only the transition from the harpsichord and clavichord manner to the fully idiomatic forte-piano style, but also the development of the "classical sonata" which spanned several decades (from 1773 to 1809). Until now, pianists have had little chance to acquaint themselves with the complete range of Koželuch's sonatas since few existed in modern editions.

For the first time this complete edition by Christopher Hogwood presents all sonatas for keyboard solo. There will be four volumes in total and the works will be presented chronologically. Volume IV also contains those sonatas which are found only in manuscript sources. - The first complete edition of all keyboard sonatas by the Czech composer Leopold Koželuch - Fills a gap in the repertoire of the Czech and Central-European classical repertoire.

- Suitable for amateurs as well as professionals; ideal for teaching purposes - Includes a detailed introduction (Eng/Cz/Ger), critical commentary (Eng) and facsimiles


  • Piano Sonata No. 13 in E-flat Major, Op. 13, No. 1
  • Piano Sonata No. 14 in G Major, Op. 13, No. 2
  • Piano Sonata No. 15 in E Minor, Op. 13, No. 3
  • Piano Sonata No. 16 in G Minor, Op. 15, No. 1
  • Piano Sonata No. 17 in C Major, Op. 15, No. 2
  • Piano Sonata No. 18 in A-flat Major, Op. 15, No. 3
  • Piano Sonata No. 19 in F Minor, Op. 17, No. 1
  • Piano Sonata No. 20 in A Major, Op. 17, No. 1
  • Piano Sonata No. 21 in E-flat Major, Op. 17, No. 3
  • Piano Sonata No. 22 in F Major, Op. 20, No. 1
  • Piano Sonata No. 23 in C Major, Op. 20, No. 2
  • Piano Sonata No. 24 in D Minor, Op. 20, No. 3

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.