Janáček: Works for Cello and Piano

SKU: BA9509

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Leoš Janáček
  • Editors: Jirí Fukac, Bedrich Havlík, Jirí Zahrádka
  • Instrumentation: Cello, Piano
  • ISMN: 9790260103849
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 80
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Leoš Janáček wrote only two works for cello and piano, of which only Pohádka (Fairy Tale) became established in the concert repertoire. Although he completed the work, the composer did not want to have it published. The history of the works composition is long and complicated. Janáček began writing the work before 1910, however, the Pohadka only received its final form after a series of corrections in 1923.

The second composition, the Presto, is incomplete. Only a sketch exists which Janáček did not develop further. The original tempo marking of Allegro was changed by Janáček himself to Presto. The work has been discussed under this title in recent Janáček literature.

In the supplement of this edition an early version of A Tale is included. The source to this version is a copy owned by Antonin Vana , one of the first interpreters of the composition. The early version of A Tale offers a valuable and interesting alternative to todays known version with its marked differences such as the considerably changed ending of the first movement and the original form of four movements.


  • Pohádka (A Tale), JW VII/5
  • Presto, JW VII/6

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.