Janáček: The Diary of One Who Disappeared

SKU: BA6869-01

Expected to ship in about a week.

  • Composer: Leoš Janáček
  • Editor: Jirí Zahrádka
  • Format: Full Score – Complete Edition
  • Instrumentation: Piano, Alto, Tenor, Female Voice
  • Work: Zápisník zmizelého (The Diary of One Who Disappeared), JW 5/12
  • Binding: Hardcover
  • Work Languages: Czech, English, German
  • ISMN: 9790260109599
  • Size: 10.6 x 13.4 inches
  • Pages: 81
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Even though Janáček's song drama "The Diary of One Who Disappeared" is scored for chamber ensemble, the composer's operatic experience is clearly detectable. This work appears in the series "Complete Critical Works of Leos Janáček" (vol. B/6), edited by Jirí Zahrádka. The volume includes an expanded preface (compared with the performing edition) and a separate edition of the song texts. The beautiful engraving matches that of the performing edition. During recent years the author of the poems has been identified as Josef Kalda, and we know that the muse of all of Janáček's late works was Kamila Stösslová. "That's why there is so much ardent feeling in this work" (letter of 24 July 1924) . "… with this work I constantly thought of you! You were this Žofka to me!" (letter of 24 December 1927). The renowned editor's research uncovered several new findings.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.