Janáček: String Quartet No. 1 ("Kreutzer Sonata")

SKU: BA9520

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day. In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
Format Descriptions

  • Composer: Leoš Janáček
  • Editors: Leoš Faltus, Milos Stedron
  • Instrumentation: String Quartet (Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello)
  • Work: String Quartet No. 1 ("Kreutzer Sonata"), JW VII/8
  • ISMN: 9790260102965
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 44
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


In October 1923, the Czech Quartet invited Leos Janáček to compose something for them. This provided the stimulus for his first string quartet. The work was inspired by Tolstoy's Kreutzer Sonata (which he had written influenced by Beethovens famous violin sonata).

Janáček had also read Tolstoy's story earlier in the original Russian and already at that time it had inspired him to compose a piano trio in 1907 which was later lost. Janáček's string quartet is a masterwork by the almost 70-year-old composer. The work sparked a creative impulse which continued with the composition of the second string quartet Intimate Letters in the last years of the composers life.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.