Janáček: 1. X. 1905

SKU: BA9501

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Leoš Janáček
  • Editors: Ludvik Kundera, Jarmil Burghauser, Radoslav Kvapil
  • Instrumentation: Piano
  • Work: 1. X. 1905 (Piano Sonata), JW VIII/19
  • ISMN: 9790260103641
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 11
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Usually referred to as a sonata, 1. X. 1905 is Janáček's most significant piece for the piano.

The work had a tumultuous history. It originally consisted of three movements inspired by the death of a Czech laborer shot by soldiers during a demonstration in Brno. Shortly after its première in 1906 Janáček destroyed the final movement and then, following a private performance in Prague, the other two movements as well. It was not until the celebrations for his 70th birthday that the pianist of the premiere found the courage to play the piece to the composer once again from her personal copy. Janáček then decided to publish the work after all.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.