Haydn-Salomon: Symphony Quintetto

SKU: BA4635

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composers: Johann Peter Salomon, Joseph Haydn
  • Format: Score & Set of Parts
  • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano, Flute, String Quartet (Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello)
  • Originally for: Orchestra
  • Work: J. Haydn: Symphony in C Major, Hob. I:97
  • ISMN: 9790006520282
  • Size: 9.2 x 11.8 inches
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Just a few years after Haydn wrote his twelve "London" symphonies, Johann Peter Salomon (1745-1815) published the first arrangements of these works for flute, string quartet and ad libitum piano. The many reprints of these arrangements throughout Europe attest to their extraordinary success during the 19th century. Now, drawing on Salomon's original manuscript, Christopher Hogwood has presented a critical edition of the arrangement of Symphony No. 97, forming a welcome addition to the chamber music repertoire along with the three six-part arrangements already published. These volumes are certain to be as popular as their 19th-century counterparts. - Haydn symphony in chamber music scoring - Welcome addition to today's repertoire - First modern edition based on Salomon's manuscript.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.