Handel: Organ Works

SKU: BA11226

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: George Frideric Handel
  • Editor: Siegbert Rampe
  • ISMN: 9790006559954
  • Size: 12.0 x 9.4 inches
  • Pages: 49
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


In terms of layout and musical text, this scholarly-critical performing edition of George Frideric Handel's Complete Organ Works is based on the complete edition volumes of the composer's keyboard music edited by Terence Best as part of the Halle Handel Edition (HHA).

The HHA Critical Commentary forms the basis of this edition, which however differs from the HHA volumes in two respects. Firstly, it gathers together, for the first time, all of Handel works for which it can be solidly argued that they were composed for the organ. The centre piece is a set of twelve handwritten fugues deriving directly from his immediate surroundings and published here, for the first time, as a unified cycle. Secondly, this edition presents plausible alternative readings from various sources in the main body of the music. in the HHA these readings, all of which definitely or presumably stem from the composer, are merely listed in the critical commentary.

Fugue I in C minor. HWV 610
Fugue II in G minor HWV 605
Fugue III in B-flat major HWV 607
Fugue IV in F minor HWV 433/2
Fugue V in E minor HWV 429/1
Fugue VI in G major HWV 606
Fugue VII in D minor HWV 428/2
Fugue VIII in A minor HWV 609
Fugue IX in B minor HWV 608
Fugue X in F-sharp minor HWV 431/3
Fugue XI in F major HWV 427/4
Fugue XII in F major HWV 611
"Fugue in E major" HWV 612
"O the pleasure of the plains" in G major HWV 474
"Jesu meine Freude" in G minor HWV 480

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.