Handel: Oreste, HWV A/11

SKU: BA4045-90

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: George Frideric Handel (1685-1759)
  • Format: Vocal Score
  • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction, Voice
  • Originally for: Opera
  • Work: Oreste, HWV A/11
  • Work Languages: German, Italian
  • ISMN: 9790006533329
  • Size: 7.5 x 10.6 inches
  • Pages: 175
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


In 1734 Handel provided the pasticcio "Oreste" for his third operatic enterprise which, following the bankruptcy of the Royal Academy and its successor academy, felt threatened by competition from the newly-founded Opera of the Nobility. Hence, the composer did not compile the work from favorite movements from his own and other composer's pieces as was usual at that time; rather in " Oreste " he presented a selection of the most beautiful arias and ensembles exclusively from his own operas. in addition, he expanded the ballet and choral scenes which he thought would make a great impact after the move into the newly built Covent Garden Theatre.

As most of the singers in his Italian company had been enticed away by the competition, Handel increasingly began to engage English virtuosi. He probably even worked on the new version of the libretto himself in order to place the new stars in the limelight to the best effect.

The new vocal score is based on Volume 1 of the Supplement to Series II of the "Halle Handel" Edition edited by Bernd Baselt .

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.