Handel: Complete Works for Violin and Basso Continuo

SKU: BA4226

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: George Frideric Handel
  • Editor: Terence Best
  • Instrumentation: Violin, Basso continuo
  • ISMN: 9790006446285
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 142
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Handel returned repeatedly throughout his life to the composition of works for violin and basso continuo. The earliest, HWV 358, was composed around 1707, while his last work for this combination of instruments, the Sonata in D major, HWV 371, was written aroud 1750.

In addition to the 5 sonatas, which have survived as autographs, there are 4 other sonatas of a spurious nature which have found a place in the violin repertoire under Handel's name although they are certainly not from his pen. These sonatas are attempts by other unknown composers to make a name by using the style of the great master. To round off this first ever publication of Handel's Complete Works for Violin and Basso continuo, there are two movements currently not available in any other performing edition: the Allegro, HWV 408 and an Andante, HWV 412.


  • Violin Sonata in G Major, HWV 358
  • Violin Sonata in D Minor, HWV 359
  • Violin Sonata in A Major, HWV 361, Op. 1, No. 3
  • Violin Sonata in G Minor, HWV 364a, Op. 1, No. 6
  • Violin Sonata in D Major, HWV 371, Op. 1, No. 13
  • Violin Sonata in G Minor, HWV 368, Op. 1, No. 10
  • Violin Sonata in F Major, HWV 370, Op. 1, No. 12
  • Violin Sonata in A Major, HWV 372, Op. 1, No. 14
  • Violin Sonata in E Major, HWV 373, Op. 1, No. 15
  • Allegro in C Minor, HWV 408
  • Andante in A Minor, HWV 412

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.