Gluck: French Operatic Arias

SKU: BA8166

Expected to ship in about a week.

  • Composer: Christoph Willibald Gluck
  • Editor: Benoît Dratwicki
  • Format: Vocal Score
  • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction, Soprano
  • Originally for: Opera
  • Work Language: French
  • ISMN: 9790006563340
  • Size: 8.3 x 11.7 inches
  • Pages: 148
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


This edition contains French operatic arias for soprano from the works which opera reformer Christoph Willibald Gluck composed on commission for the Paris Opera.

These include:

  • Iphigénie en Aulide
  • Cythère assiégée
  • L'Arbre enchanté
  • Écho et Narcisse

About the series:

In collaboration with the Centre de musique baroque de Versailles (CMBV) all arias from Christoph Willibald Gluck's French operas will be published for the first time in a collection of four volumes, ordered by voice type. With their wide variety of arias and informative texts these volumes constitute a valuable resource of works by one of the preeminent composers of the 18th century for singing lessons, auditions and recitals. In addition to the bilingual Foreword (Fr/Eng), the informative text section covers, for each aria, a brief dramaturgical placement into the context of the respective plot as well as a literal English translation.


  • "Heureux guerriers, volez a la victoire from Iphigénie en Aulide, Wq. 40
  • "Heureux guerriers, volez à la victoire" from Iphigénie en Aulide, Wq. 40
  • "Si les doux accords de ta lyre" from Orphée et Eurydice (French Version), Wq. 41
  • "Soumis au silence" from Orphée et Eurydice (French Version), Wq. 41
  • "Si l'amour était un crime" from L'arbre enchanté (1775 Version) (1775)
  • "Pour me plaire" from L'arbre enchanté (1775 Version) (1775)
  • "Que l'objet qui m'engage" from L'arbre enchanté (1775 Version) (1775)
  • "Ah! quel bonheur d'aimer" from Cythère Assiégée, Wq. 26
  • "La barbare" from Cythère Assiégée, Wq. 26
  • "Dieu puissant! embrase de ta flamme" from Cythère Assiégée, Wq. 26
  • "Quelle audace, soldats" from Cythère Assiégée, Wq. 26
  • "Mon coeur se plaît au bruit des armes" from Cythère Assiégée, Wq. 26
  • "Nymphes, chantez victoire" from Cythère Assiégée, Wq. 26
  • "L'aimable paix règne en ces asiles" from Cythère Assiégée, Wq. 26
  • "On s'étonnerait moins que la saison nouvelle" from Armide, Wq. 45
  • "Rien dans la nature" from Écho et Narcisse (1779)
  • "Amusez, sachez plaire" from Écho et Narcisse (1779)
  • "Peut-être d'un injuste effroi" from Écho et Narcisse (1779)
  • "Vous différez nos jeux" from Écho et Narcisse (1779)

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.