Franck: Violin Sonata / Andantino quietoso, Op. 6 / Mélancolie

SKU: BA9425

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: César Franck
  • Editor: Douglas Woodfull-Harris
  • Instrumentation: Piano, Violin
  • ISMN: 9790006559169
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 78
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


César Franck's Violin Sonata is one of the most treasured works in the violin repertoire, a masterpiece of cyclic form with a gracefulness and expressive force almost paradigmatic for the age of musical Romanticism. This work was composed in 1886 and was dedicated to the Belgian violinist and composer Eugène Ysaÿe.

Bärenreiter's new edition also includes two short separate movements for the same instrumentation: the early Andantino quietoso, Op. 6 (1843), a hauntingly beautiful piece composed for performances with Franck's violinist brother Joseph, as well as Mélancolie, first published after Franck's death in 1911. This second piece is based on a solfège exercise and written at the height of the composer's creative powers, at about the same time as his famous violin sonata.

The edition is rounded off by an informative text on the genesis and reception history of the three compositions (Ger/Fr/Eng), a complete list of sources, editorial notes and a Critical Commentary (Eng).


  • Violin Sonata in A Major, FWV 8
  • Andantino quietoso, FWV 5, Op. 6
  • Mélancolie, FWV 10

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.