Eccles: Sonata in G Minor (arr. for cello)

SKU: BA10699

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Henry Eccles
  • Editor: Christoph Sassmannshaus
  • Instrumentation (this edition): Cello, Piano
  • Originally for: Violin, Basso continuo
  • Work: Violin Sonata in G Minor
  • ISMN: 9790006564606
  • Size: 9.1 x 11.8 inches
  • Pages: 17


Henry Eccles left behind a number of smaller works most of which were written for violins or flutes. However, the most famous is this Sonata in G Minor. Though often played in transcription by violinists and especially by double bass players, the sonata was originally published for cello in four movements – Prelude, Courante, Sarabande and Gigue – accompanied by a figured bass. Little is known about Henry Eccles. Neither his birth nor his death date has been firmly established, ranging respectively between 1675-85 and 1735-45. It is not even certain that he composed this sonata. He probably hailed from London and later served at the court of Louis XV in France. The editor Christoph Sassmannshaus, is the grandson of Egon Sassmannshaus, the founder of the "Early Start" series of string methods.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.