Dvořák: String Quartet No. 3 in D Major

SKU: H3813

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Antonín Dvořák
  • Format: Set of Parts
  • Instrumentation: String Quartet (Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello)
  • Work: String Quartet No. 3 in D Major (Smyčcový kvartet č. 3 D dur), B. 18
  • ISMN: 9790260106024
  • Size: 9.4 x 12.3 inches
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


We do not know exactly when Dvořák composed his String Quartet in D major, though we may assume it was in the period between 1868-9. Among other things, the work reflects the contemporary national and political mood, as is clear from the quotation of the introductory bars of the song Hej Slované (O Slavs); the author even uses this thematic material to build an entire scherzo movement. in its character, the quartet claims kinship with what were then seen as the strongly progressive ideals of Wagner. The work has survived only in the parts.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.