Dvořák: String Quartet No. 12 in F Major, Op. 96 "American"

SKU: BA11538

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day. In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
Format Descriptions

  • Composer: Antonín Dvořák
  • Instrumentation: String Quartet (Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello)
  • Work: String Quartet No. 12 in F Major ("American"), B. 179, Op. 96
  • ISMN: 9790260108974
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 52
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Dvořák composed his twelfth string quartet in F Major, Op. 96, known as the "American" Quartet, in just twelve days during his summer vacation in Spillville, Iowa in June 1893. This immensely uplifting quartet has become one of the composer's most popular works because of its immediate musical appeal.

The work was issued by the publisher Simrock in Berlin in 1894; Johannes Brahms read the corrections, but the correction copy has unfortunately not survived. The editor, therefore, used the autograph as well as the score and parts of the first print.

In accordance with current practice, the cello part of this edition refrains from using the false treble clef which raises the music an octave higher. Instead, the tenor clef is used.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.