Dvořák: Piano Quartet in E-flat Major, Op. 87

SKU: BA9537

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Antonín Dvořák
  • Editor: Antonín Pokorný
  • Format: Set of Parts
  • Instrumentation: Piano Quartet (Piano, Violin, Viola, Cello)
  • Work: Piano Quartet No. 2 in E-flat Major (Klavírní kvartet č. 2 Es dur), B. 162, Op. 87
  • ISMN: 9790260105539
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 120
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Towards the end of the 19th century the piano quartet was established as a separate sophisticated chamber music genre. It is therefore not surprising that the publisher Fritz Simrock asked Dvořák for a further contribution to the genre.

The second Piano Quartet in E-flat Major, Op. 87 was composed in the summer of 1889 during a torrent of creativity: "My head is so full, if a human being could only write it all down straight away! [...] It is unexpectedly easy and the melodies simply flow towards me. Thanks be to God!" These words could describe the quartet itself, a work with characteristic carefree tone and clear nationalistic colouring. The primary source for this publication was the first edition from 1890.

This edition replaces the older H1756.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.