Debussy: Works for Violin and Piano

SKU: BA9444

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Claude Debussy
  • Arrangers: Claude Debussy, Arthur Hartmann
  • Instrumentation: Piano, Violin
  • ISMN: 9790006559862
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 78
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Claude Debussy had difficulties finishing his last Major work, the Sonata for Violin and PiaNo. This can be seen in the many drafts which have been handed down and the fact that the cycle for which it was conceived was left unfinished. The melancholy work originated under the impact of the First World War.

The first edition, published during the final year of Debussy's life, contains many rhythmic errors. The non-autograph metronome marks and the discrepancies between the separate violin part and the violin part in small print in the piano score are two problems that have affected the work's later reception. Both are examined here in a fresh light.

This edition contains arrangements of La fille aux cheveux de lin, Il pleure dans mon coeur by the American violinist Arthur Hartmann. It was Hartmann who inspired Debussy to make his own arrangement of the well-known piano piece Minstrels, also included in the edition.


  • Violin Sonata in G Minor, CD 148, L 140
  • Minstrels (for violin and piano)
  • La fille aux cheveux de lin (for violin)
  • Il pleure dans mon cœur (version for violin)

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.