Corelli: Violin Sonatas, Op. 5 - Volume 1

SKU: BA9455

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Arcangelo Corelli
  • Editors: Christopher Hogwood, Ryan Mark
  • Instrumentation: Violin, Basso continuo
  • ISMN: 9790006535118
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 180
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Arcangelo Corelli, the violin virtuoso of his time, published his Sonatas for Violin and Basso continuo, Op. 5 in Rome in 1700. These sonatas are a compendium of violin playing of his time and laid the groundwork for future violin compositions.

Over the years, the sonatas have been published in nearly 100 editions, all based on Corelli's first edition which contains only the solo violin line above an unrealized bass line. Today, the sonatas are well known in numerous modern continuo realizations. However a realization from Corellis time by Antonio Tonelli also exists and is presented here. This realization is surprising in that it contains full chords, sometimes played by both hands.


  • Violin Sonata in D Major, Op. 5, No. 1
  • Violin Sonata in B-flat Major, Op. 5, No. 2
  • Violin Sonata in C Major, Op. 5, No. 3
  • Violin Sonata in F Major, Op. 5, No. 4
  • Violin Sonata in G Minor, Op. 5, No. 5
  • Violin Sonata in A Major, Op. 5, No. 6

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.