Brahms: Violin Sonata in G Major, Op. 78

SKU: BA9431

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Johannes Brahms
  • Editors: Clive Brown, Neal Peres Da Costa
  • Instrumentation: Piano, Violin
  • Work: Violin Sonata No. 1 in G Major, Op. 78
  • ISMN: 9790006544318
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 56
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


We know today that Johannes Brahms wrote at least three sonatas for violin and piano before he composed his Sonata in G Major, Op. 78. However these earlier works did not survive the test of the composer's critical scrutiny. Op. 78 developed alongside the Violin Concerto, Op. 77 in the summers of 1878 and 1879. Clara Schumann was delighted by Brahms‘ citations from his own "Regenlied" and "Nachklang" (op. 59, nos. 3 and 4). Brahms conceived these figurations in melody and accompaniment to evocate raindrops. Even though the work was first received by Brahms‘ contemporaries with mixed enthusiasm, it quickly found its place in the standard violin repertoire.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.