Brahms: String Sextet in G Major, Op. 36

SKU: BA9420

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day. In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
Format Descriptions

  • Composer: Johannes Brahms
  • Editor: Christopher Hogwood
  • Instrumentation: String Sextet (2 violins, 2 violas, 2 cellos)
  • Work: String Sextet No. 2 in G Major ("Agathe"), Op. 36
  • ISMN: 9790006538461
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 95
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


The two string sextets (Op. 18 and Op. 36) by Johannes Brahms are amongst the high points of the Romantic string repertoire and some of the most popular chamber music works of all.

The editor has taken all known sources into consideration including the versions for piano two and four hands which the composer wrote as well as a set of contemporary performing parts which offer variant readings and insights into performance practice during Brahms' lifetime.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.