Brahms: Piano Trio after the Sextet in B-flat Major, Op. 18

SKU: BA9441

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Johannes Brahms
  • Editor: Christopher Hogwood
  • Format: Set of Parts
  • Instrumentation: Piano Trio (Piano, Violin, Cello)
  • Work: Piano Trio (after the Sextet in B-flat Major), Op. 18
  • ISMN: 9790006494088
  • Size: 10.0 x 12.8 inches
  • Pages: 84
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Brahms' contemporary and friend Theodor Kirchner arranged the composer's String Sextet, Op. 18 for piano trio. Simrock, Brahms' publisher, issued it in 1883. Brahms responded to the arrangement of his sextet with total enthusiasm and praise for the skills of this friend Kirchner.

Christopher Hogwood's scholarly-critical edition includes an introduction which sheds light not just on the history of the arrangement and its validity in its own right, but on Kirchner and his relationship to Brahms.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.