Beethoven: Piano Trios, Op. 70

SKU: BA10960

Expected to ship in about a week.

  • Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
  • Editor: Jonathan Del Mar (1951-)
  • Format: Set of Parts
  • Instrumentation: Piano Trio (Piano, Violin, Cello)
  • ISMN: 9790006575770
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 145


Ludwig van Beethoven's two piano trios, Op. 70 were written during the composer's visit to his patron Marie von Erdödy. Published in 1809, they are now among Beethoven's most famous works of this genre, especially the "Ghost Trio", Op. 70, No. 1, the name of which has an unclear meaning and possibly refers to the character of the second movement.

For this new Urtext edition, a further relevant source was at editor Jonathan Del Mar's disposal for the first time, namely a set of parts made for Archduke Rudolf with corrections by Beethoven. By meticulously evaluating all the sources, discrepancies in previous editions were resolved and thus the third movement of Trio No. 2 is reproduced in its original five-part structure.


  • Trio in D Major (Ghost Trio), Op. 70, No. 1
  • Piano Trio in E-flat Major, Op. 70, No. 2

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.