Beethoven: Piano Trio in B-flat Major, Op. 97

SKU: BA10942

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven
  • Editor: Jonathan Del Mar
  • Format: Set of Parts
  • Instrumentation: Piano Trio (Piano, Violin, Cello)
  • Work: Piano Trio in B-flat Major ("Archduke"), Op. 97
  • ISMN: 9790006569977
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.0 inches
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


By the time Beethoven completed the "Archduke" Trio in 1811 he had been working on it for several years. in April 1814 he could finally give the work its première together with Ignaz Schuppanzigh and Joseph Linke, this being Beethoven's last public appearance as a pianist. He dedicated the piece to his friend, pupil and patron, Archduke Rudolph of Austria. Today it numbers among his most celebrated pieces of chamber music, not least because of its remarkable melodiousness – a feature typical of Beethoven's music from these years – and its spacious formal design.

Jonathan Del Mar's new critical edition of the Trio draws not only on early prints but also on various handwritten sources. A detailed introduction by Misha Donat is devoted to the work's historical contexts.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.