Bach: Violin Sonatas, BWV 1014-1019

SKU: BA5240

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach
  • Editors: Peter Wollny, Andrew Manze
  • Instrumentation: Violin, Harpsichord
  • ISMN: 9790006524235
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 295
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Bach's six sonatas for violin form a unified cycle. Each has its own profile and places its own demands on the player.

This new edition is largely based on Bach's definitive version as captured in the manuscript copy prepared by Johann Christoph Altnickol. However, as this source is not absolutely secure with regard to dynamics, articulation, ornamentation and titles, the editor has also drawn on earlier copies prepared by Johann Friedrich Agricola and Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach.

Substantive departures from the Altnickol MS appear on ossia staves; a list of alternative readings allows readers to trace the provenance of each reading. Sonatas BWV 1018 and 1019 are accompanied by early versions illustrating the various stages that these works passed through.

Peter Wollny's detailed preface explains the sonatas significance to the history of their genre and provides a rich commentary on the transmission and evaluation of the sources. Rounding off this Urtext edition is a violin part marked up for performance purposes by Andrew Manze. Here the reader will find fingerings and recommended ornaments as well as notes on performance practice.


  • Violin Sonata in B Minor, BWV 1014
  • Violin Sonata in A Major, BWV 1015
  • Violin Sonata in E Major, BWV 1016
  • Violin Sonata in C Minor, BWV 1017
  • Violin Sonata in F Minor, BWV 1018
  • Violin Sonata in G Major, BWV 1019

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.