Bach: Musical Offering, BWV 1079

SKU: BA5154

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day. Expected to ship in about a week. In stock and typically ships within 1 business day. In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
Format Descriptions

  • Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach
  • Editor: Christoph Wolff
  • Instrumentation: Piano
  • ISMN: 9790006465859
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 21
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


The Musical Offering (German title: Musikalisches Opfer or Das Musikalische Opfer) is a collection of keyboard canons and fugues and other pieces of music by Johann Sebastian Bach, all based on a single musical theme given to him by Frederick the Great (Frederick II of Prussia), to whom they are dedicated. The Ricercar a 6, a six-voice fugue which is the highpoint of the entire work, was put forward by the musicologist Charles Rosen as the most significant piano composition in history. This ricercar is also occasionally called the Prussian Fugue, a name used by Bach himself. The composition features in the opening section of Douglas Hofstadter's Pulitzer Prize winning book Gödel, Escher, Bach.


  • Ricercar a 3, BWV 1079
  • Ricercar a 6, BWV 1079

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.