Bach: Keyboard Works of Doubtful Authenticity

SKU: BA5250

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach
  • Editors: Ulrich Bartels, Frieder Rempp
  • Instrumentation: Piano, Keyboard
  • ISMN: 9790006536887
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 143
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


A large number of works have survived bearing the name of Johann Sebastian Bach, the authenticity of which has been called into question on various occasions. This edition now combines all those pieces where Bach's authorship has been either verified by the musicologists at the New Bach Edition or where there is a degree of certainty about this. The edition gathers together a range of different types of composition: as well as numerous preludes and fugues, there are toccatas, dance and concert works. Two adaptations after the violin solo sonatas BWV 1003 and 1005 are worth special mention. These two works demonstrate particularly clearly what applies to all the other works in this volume: whether Bach's authorship is doubtful or not, there is no question that this is a collection of fascinating music.


  • Suite in B-flat Major, BWV 821
  • Prelude and Fughetta in D Minor, BWV 899
  • Prelude and Fugue in E Minor, BWV 900
  • Prelude on a Theme by Albinoni in B Minor, BWV 923
  • Scherzo in D Minor, BWV 844
  • Andante in G Minor, BWV 969
  • Presto in D Minor, BWV 970
  • Scherzo in E Minor, BWV 844a
  • Fantasia and Fugue in D Minor, BWV 905
  • Fantasie and Fughetta in B-flat Major, BWV 907
  • Fantasie and Fughetta in D Major, BWV 908
  • Concerto and Fugue in C Minor, BWV 909
  • Fantasy in C Minor, BWV 919
  • Little Prelude, BWV 939
  • Little Prelude, BWV 940
  • Little Prelude, BWV 941
  • Little Prelude, BWV 942
  • Little Prelude, BWV 943
  • Fugue in A Minor, BWV 947
  • Fugue after Erselius in B-flat Major, BWV 955
  • Fugue in e Minor, BWV 956
  • Fugue in a Minor, BWV 958
  • Sonata (after the Violin Sonata A Minor) in D Minor, BWV 964
  • Adagio after the Violin Sonata C Major (Sonata movement) in G Major, BWV 968
  • Sarabande con Partite in C Major, BWV 990
  • Polonaise in D Minor (after BWV 1067)
  • Toccata in F Minor, BWV Anh. 85
  • Fugue in G Minor, BWV Anh. 101
  • Prelude and Fugue in E-flat Major (by Johann Christoph Bach), BWV Anh. 177
  • Fughetta in D Minor, BWV deest
  • Fantasie in B Minor, BWV deest
  • Minuet and Trio in A Minor, BWV deest

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.