Bach: Arias for Alto

SKU: BA5212-03

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day. In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
Format Descriptions

  • Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach
  • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction, Alto
  • Originally for: Piano, SATB Choir, Orchestra, Alto, Chamber Orchestra
  • Work Languages: English, German
  • ISMN: 9790006503810
  • Size: 9.1 x 11.8 inches
  • Pages: 82
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


ln recent decades Bach's cantatas have gained enormous popularity and entered the repertoires of many singers. These volumes present characteristic arias from Bach's huge output of cantatas for all four vocal ranges - soprano, alto, tenor and bass -together with helpful advice on how to learn them. The accompanying booklet in German and English not only contains preparatory exercises but also offers background information on style, technique and performance practice.

Each volume presents the reliable text of the New Bach Edition as well as a simple piano reduction allowing less experienced accompanists to perform the arias outside their original context.


  • Menschen, glaubt doch dieser Gnade from Christ unser Herr zum Jordan Kam (Cantata for St. John's Day), BWV 7
  • Ach, bleibe doch, mein liebstes Leben from Lobet Gott in seinen Reichen (Cantata), BWV 11
  • Wohl euch, ihr auserwählten Seelen from O ewiges Feuer, o Ursprung der Liebe (Cantata for Pentacost), BWV 34
  • Nur eines kränkt - Jesus macht mich geistlich reic from Die Elenden sollen essen (Cantata for the 1st Sunday after Trinity), BWV 75
  • Gott, man lobet dich in der Stille from Gott, man lobet dich in der Stille (Cantata for a Leipzig city council election), BWV 120
  • Es kömmt ein Tag from Erforsche mich, Gott, and erfahre mein Herz (Cantata for the 8th Sunday after Trinity), BWV 136
  • So, wie der Hirsch schreit - Mund und Herz steht d from Bringet dem Herrn Ehre seines Namens (Cantata for the 17th Sunday after Trinity), BWV 148
  • Vergnügte Ruh, beliebte Seelenlust from Vergnügte Ruh, BWV 170
  • Du Herr, du krönst allein das Jahr from Es wartet alles auf dich (Cantata for the 7th Sunday after Trinity), BWV 187
  • Ich will dich nicht hören from Lasst uns sorgen, lasst uns wachen (Birthday Cantata), BWV 213

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.