Telemann: Nouveaux Quatuors ("Paris Quartets") - Volume 1

SKU: BA5881

Expected to ship in about a week.

  • Composer: Georg Philipp Telemann
  • Instrumentation: Violin, Basso continuo, Flute, Viola da gamba / Cello
  • ISMN: 9790006520053
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 224
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Telemann's chamber music is historically unique in its range of instrumental settings. From his huge output these new editions present the six quartets for flute, violin, viola da gamba or cello and basso continuo that he wrote in Paris in the 1730s.

Published with the title Nouveaux Quatuors en Six Suites by Le Clerc in Paris in 1738, these six pieces are suites with various sequences of movements, each introduced by a prelude.

Here Telemann shows himself committed to the French style. The works are of special interest not only for their high quality but also because of the variable scoring of the third part for viola da gamba or cello.

Our edition consists of a full score with preface (German/English) and separate instrumental parts including a keyboard with figured bass.


  • Quartet, TWV 43:D3
  • Quartet, TWV 43:a2
  • Quartet, TWV 43:G4

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.