Rameau: Symphonies from Zaïs, RCT 60

SKU: BA7564

Expected to ship in about a week.

  • Composer: Jean-Philippe Rameau
  • Format: Full Score
  • Instrumentation (this edition): Orchestra
  • Originally for: Opera
  • Work: Zaïs, RCT 60
  • ISMN: 9790006542000
  • Size: 9.4 x 13.0 inches
  • Pages: 64
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


"Zaïs" was Rameau's first opera devoted entirely to la "féerie" – the enchanted world of Middle-Eastern myth, with its spirits and fantastical aerial beings. Premiered at the Paris Opéra on 29 February 1748, the work was much praised for the strength, elegance and diversity of its music and for the grace of its ballets. Although Cahusac's libretto received some criticism, this delightful work proved popular: it was revived in 1761 and 1769 and was performed over one hundred times during a period of more than two decades.

Presented in the order in which they appear in the opera, the Symphonies are derived from the critical edition of the full score ("Opera Omnia Rameau" IV.15) and retain the bar numbers and reference marks found in that volume. This allows performers to refer where necessary to the critical commentary, which forms part of the full score.

  • Practical performing edition of the instrumental Symphonies
  • Based on the "Opera Omnia Rameau"

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.